Zab Judah's explanation of why he didn't get up yesterday doesn't hold water. (Photo by Ethan Miller/Getty Images)
Zab Judah's fifth round body shot knockout at the hands of Amir Khan last night is being disputed, but only by Judah and the insane. Here's Judah's explanation of what he claims he thought was going on:
"Everyone in world who saw the fight will see that's a low blow. I thought he (the referee) was giving me time to get up. He then said 'over'. I thought he was giving me a standing eight-count. I didn't understand that."
- He was wrong. Nobody thinks it was particularly low. Not being bought by the public.
- As Harold Lederman has told you many times in fights under the unified rules of the Association of Boxing Commissions, there is NO standing eight count.
- When has any referee ever counted, "1, 2, 3, 4, 5, etc." for time off for a foul? Ever?
- He wasn't getting up at the eight. What was he hearing? Where was his mind?
Judah's explanation is weak and full of holes, and for anyone possibly wondering if there's controversy, no, there really isn't. At the very worst, it was a borderline low blow, but it was right on the belt line, so it just wasn't a low blow. The prevailing wisdom immediately after the fight, and continuing into today, is that Judah was looking for a way out. He didn't come up with a particularly good one, at least combined with the post-fight protest of the punch.