FanPost

A Feast for Fans of Fat City

The Stacks has an awesome post up providing a retrospective of both the book and film of Leonard Gardner's amazing Fat City. I'm a big fan of the book, and I have used the cover of a reprinting of the book as my avatar here at Bad Left Hook for many years.

The post collects sharp and telling quotes about the book from novelists including Denis Johnson and Frank Conroy. Like some of the other writers quoted, l learned about the book while doing my MFA in creative writing at the University of Iowa, where the book was legendary. I later saw a remastered version of the film at the IFC in Manhattan, and I was blown away by all of it. John Huston's directing is superb, and a young, unknown Stacy Keach and Susan Tyrell give career defining performances.

Alex Belth's overview taught me a lot about both the book and film. For example, I didn't know that Marlon Brando was almost cast instead of Keach. If you love this book (or even if you just love boxing books or films in general), you will definitely want to check this out.


<strong><font color="red">FanPosts are user-created content written by community members of Bad Left Hook, and are generally not the work of our editors. <em>Please do not source FanPosts as the work of Bad Left Hook</em>.</font></strong>

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Bad Left Hook

You must be a member of Bad Left Hook to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Bad Left Hook. You should read them.

Join Bad Left Hook

You must be a member of Bad Left Hook to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Bad Left Hook. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_5349_tracker