clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

WBC names Edgar Sosa "champion emeritus," but Mayol keeps belt

Scott Christ is the managing editor of Bad Left Hook and has been covering boxing for SB Nation since 2006.

James Blears reports that the WBC has made a ruling in the controversial Rodel Mayol win over Edgar Sosa this past weekend, naming Sosa as champion emeritus and letting Mayol keep the 108-pound title he won with the second round TKO. Mayol benefited from a vicious headbutt that seemed intentional to most, putting a rocked and groggy Sosa away moments after being docked a point.

[WBC president Jose Sulaiman] explained that the referee had ruled it an unintentional headbutt, and he docked a point from Mayol, after the ring doctor declared Sosa fit to continue. So the criteria was set by on the spot officials. He added to "There were mistakes yes. It seems the proof presented is that it was an intentional headbutt, and the referee called it unintentional. It was a serious blatant headbutt."

Sulaiman then added this bit of hilarity:

"But the WBC could not do anything else. We must follow the rules."

Ah, indeed.

Anyway, they have done right by Sosa in most respects. The former titlist will be out at least six months after some rather extensive surgery to his face, and upon his return, he will be able to fight for the 108-pound title, or go straight at the 112-pound WBC title. He's been said to be moving up to 112 for a while now, and I'd guess that's where he'll return.

For what it's worth, Sosa's promoter says he doesn't want Edgar to fight Mayol again, preferring they go after 112-pound titlist Daisuke Naito. He referred to Naito as "an honest, ordinary and clean fighter," as opposed to Mayol, who has gained quite a reputation as a rough or even dirty fighter this year. Naito faces Koki Kameda on Sunday in Japan.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bad Left Hook Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your global boxing news from Bad Left Hook