clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Guillermo Rigondeaux stripped of WBA title

Just days after getting stripped of his world title by the WBO, Guillermo Rigondeaux has just been stripped by the WBA due to his inactivity.

Ken Ishii/Getty Images
Wil Esco is an assistant editor of Bad Left Hook and has been covering boxing for SB Nation since 2014.

Guillermo Rigondeaux, who just a week ago held two major world titles, now has none. Last week the WBO stripped Rigondeaux of his 122lb world title due to his inactivity. Following the same reasoning as the WBO's decision, the WBA has now followed suit and stripped Rigondeaux of their 122lb world title, officially leaving the ultra-talented fighter as a former titleholder.

"Rigondeaux has not defended or scheduled to defend his title in a timely fashion culminating in only four bouts since September 15, 2012," the WBO wrote in its ruling.

The WBA did say in their letter, however:

"in light of Rigondeaux's impressive record and accomplishments, the delays associated with his various managerial/promoter disputes, and the loss of his unification status (because he was stripped by the WBO)" the WBA reclassified him as a "champion in recess."

The WBA states that Rigondeaux must come out of recess to face secondary titlist Scott Quigg (who has nearly finalized a deal to fight Carl Frampton) or whomever has their belt on or before May 1st, 2016. In the meantime, the WBA has granted Quigg special permission to face Frampton in a highly anticipated unification bout on Feb. 27th.

Rigondeaux's promoter, Caribe Promotions, doesn't put on any of their own shows and appears to either be unable or simply unwilling to strike a deal with another promoter for Rigondeaux to secure a fight. Rigondeaux hasn't been in the ring since last December in Japan when he stopped Hisashi Amagasa in the 11th round.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bad Left Hook Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your global boxing news from Bad Left Hook