clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kell Brook wins BBBofC Boxer of the Year award

Kell Brook has been named Boxer of the Year by the British Boxing Board of Control.

Ben Hoskins/Getty Images

Kell Brook, who won the IBF welterweight title in August 2014 and has made a pair of successful defenses in 2015, was named the British Boxing Board of Control Boxer of the Year for his rise to the elite ranks of his weight class.

Brook (35-0, 24 KO) went to California and knocked off Shawn Porter last August to win his first world title. Before he could make his first defense, he was stabbed and sidelined, but returned to action in March of this year, beating mandatory challenger Jo Jo Dan in four rounds. His second defense came on May 30, with a dominant win over Frankie Gavin.

Brook, 29, is now set to face Argentina's Diego Chaves on October 24.

The rematch between Dave Ryan and John Wayne Hibbert from May 30 was named Fight of the Year, with Joe Gallagher winning Trainer of the Year, and Anthony Crolla picked up the Outstanding Achievement award for his inspirational comeback from injuries suffered when he interrupted a burglary on his neighbor's property early in 2015. Jorge Linares received the Overseas Fighter of the Year award for his May 30 win over Kevin Mitchell, which was also nominated for Fight of the Year.

The incredibly famous and important Amir Khan won no awards.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bad Left Hook Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your global boxing news from Bad Left Hook