clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2016 Nevada Boxing Hall of Fame class includes first female fighter

A class of 11 will be inducted into the Nevada Boxing Hall of Fame at its annual dinner on July 30.

John Gichigi/Getty Images

Eleven people will be inducted into this year's Nevada Boxing Hall of Fame class as its annual dinner, scheduled for July 30th at the Caesars Palace in Las Vegas. Of the eleven, six inductees are retired fighters including Riddick Bowe; Ricardo Lopez; Ray Mancini; Pernell Whitaker; Freddie Little; and Christy Martin. Martin, a trailblazer for female boxing, will become the first female fighter inducted into the NVHOF.

"Yet again, we have an outstanding class to present for induction," said Rich Marotta, the president and founder of the NVBHOF. "It's a great mix of fighters and we're thrilled to induct our first woman, the great Christy Martin. This will be a big night for us and will add many legendary names to our already prestigious group of inductees."

In addition to the fighters, longtime trainers Kenny Adams, Johnny Tocco, and Thell Torrance will be honored with the distinction. Additionally, boxing writers and radio personalities Tim Dahlberg and James Smith will also be inducted.

Next year I'll be a definite shoe-in for the honors, but I'll still probably only attend the ceremony for the open bar. So if you're keen on seeing me go all Kanye West 2.0, be there!

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bad Left Hook Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your global boxing news from Bad Left Hook