clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

International Boxing Hall of Fame reveals class of 2019

The class includes four fighters and five noncombatants

Julian Jackson
Patrick Stumberg is a freelance writer for SB Nation, first joining the network in 2011 before linking up with Bad Left Hook in 2015.

The International Boxing Hall of Fame revealed its nine-strong class of 2019 today, who will officially be inducted over the weekend of June 6th, 2018.

Your inductees:

Two-division champion and 1980 Olympian Donald Curry (Modern)
Two-division champion and power-punching legend Julian Jackson (Modern)
Two-division champion and prolific trainer Buddy McGirt (Modern)
Welterweight champion and Boston legend Tony DeMarco (Old Timer)

Those in the non-participant and observer categories include venerable promoter/manager Don Elbaum, versatile officiating veteran Guy Jutras, Top Rank publicist Lee Samuels, trainer/broadcaster Teddy Atlas, and the late Mario Rivera Martino, who served Puerto Rican boxing for more than 50 years as a writer and eventual commissioner.

Here’s the entire “Modern” ballot.

Pongsaklek Wonjongkam would have been on this list and probably would have made it in, but his April bout with Manot Comput, who replaced Koki Kameda, delayed his elegibility.

Now that we’ve got the results out of the way, it’s time for my favorite part of the whole endeavor: arguing over who got lucky and who got robbed.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bad Left Hook Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your global boxing news from Bad Left Hook