clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Luis Nery lights up Shinsuke Yamanaka in two rounds

Nery made even quicker work of Yamanaka in today’s rematch.

Luis Nery v Shinsuke Yamanaka - WBC Bantamweight Title Bout Photo by Atsushi Tomura/Getty Images
Wil Esco is an assistant editor of Bad Left Hook and has been covering boxing for SB Nation since 2014.

Those hoping to see former bantamweight titlist Luis Nery get his comeuppance today will have to wait a while longer. Nery, who weighed-in well over the bantamweight limit of 118lbs yesterday — and subsequently stripped of his world title — blitzed the Japanese fighter in two rounds, likely ending Yamanaka’s career.

You can catch the video of the fight right here.

Nery started catching Yamanaka with combination punches mid-way through the first round, clearly hurting the Japanese fighter. Yamanaka would shortly thereafter go down towards the end of the first round. The referee would rule it a slip, but Yamanaka was clearly unstable on his legs when he got up, indiciating he was genuinely damaged. Nery couldn’t believe it wasn’t ruled a knock down, but immediately when on the attack again, strafing Yamanaka again until a left hand put Yamanaka down again — this time with no doubt.

The second round was more of the same, and Yamanaka was still not fully recovered as a right hand jab from Nery would again send Yamanaka to the canvas. Yamanaka would rise once more, but at this point the writing was on the wall. Nery would clip Yamanaka with a right hook that would crumble him, and that was all she wrote. The referee immediately waved off the fight. Yamanaka was visibily distraught with how things played out.

With Nery coming into the weigh-in well over the limit, the WBC’s bantamweight title will remain vacant. And this is probably the unfortunate ending to Yamanaka’s career in the squared circle.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bad Left Hook Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your global boxing news from Bad Left Hook