clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Luis Ortiz’s team claim ‘robbery’ in Deontay Wilder fight

Team Ortiz takes serious issue with the referee unfairly giving Wilder extra time to recover when he was clearly hurt.

Deontay Wilder v Luis Ortiz Photo by Al Bello/Getty Images
Wil Esco is an assistant editor of Bad Left Hook and has been covering boxing for SB Nation since 2014.

There’s no questions that Deontay Wilder dramatically turned things around in his fight with Luis Ortiz last weekend, and abruptly ended the fight with a series of monstrous shots. But a particular sequence of events leading up to that stoppage is a point of issue for Team Ortiz.

Specifically, Team Ortiz posted a video on his Instagram account which shows the end of Round 7 where Ortiz badly hurt Wilder, who seemed to barely survive an impending knockout, and the start of the next round where the referee inexplicably gave Wilder extra time to recover.

The caption was edited after the initial post to make clear that they weren’t intending to take credit away from Wilder, but they do suggest that someone with “deep pockets,” and with a vested interest in Wilder, made a gesture to the referee which signaled him to call a break in the action so that Wilder could regain his bearings.

Note: I’m inserting some punctuation changes and spelling edits just so that it reads a little more clearly but the caption, in part, reads:

“[Deontay Wilder is] a bad motherf*^ker and he came out like ‘let’s go’ but his promoters or someone [who] has deep pockets made a signal to the referee, again not Wilder, but someone with interest in him winning. Remember Wilder sure gets paid but not more than promoters. We feel we deserve a rematch and only if [Anthony Joshua] doesn’t take Wilder. We really should and deserve a rematch after seeing this, this was a robbery in plain day and it really was an epic battle of Godzilla vs King Kong...”

There’s no question that this was a suspect moment during the fight, with even Showtime commentator Paulie Malginaggi pointing out on-air that it was a dubious timeout call by the referee as Wilder hadn’t suffered a cut or anything.

But what do you make of Team Ortiz’s claim? Do they have a legitimate gripe here? And do you think it calls for Ortiz to get a second bite at the apple? Sound off in the comments below.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bad Left Hook Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your global boxing news from Bad Left Hook