clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

WBSS announces seeding for Season II tournaments

The Draft Gala will be held today at the Rossiya Theatre in Pushkinskaya Square, Moscow

Anthony Joshua v Joseph Parker - World Heavyweight Title Fight Photo by Julian Finney/Getty Images
Wil Esco is an assistant editor of Bad Left Hook and has been covering boxing for SB Nation since 2014.

Ahead of today’s Draft Gala, where the top seeds will select who they’ll face in the quarterfinals of the upcoming World Boxing Super Series tournaments at both bantamaweight and junior welterweight, the WBSS has officially announced the seeding for the tournaments.

Starting with the bantamweight tourney, the top four seeds looks like this:

1. Ryan Burnett – WBA World Bantamweight Champion
2. Naoya Inoue – WBA World ‘Regular’ Champion
3. Zolani Tete – WBO World Bantamweight Champion
4. Emmanuel Rodriguez – IBF World Bantamweight Champion

The rest of the bantamweight field consists of:

Jason Moloney – mandatory challenger
Nonito Donaire – former four-time world champion
Juan Carlos Payano – former bantamweight world titleholder
Mikhail Aloyan – undefeated contender

At junior welterweight the top four seeds are:

1. Regis Prograis – Interim WBC World Champion
2. Josh Taylor – WBC mandatory
3. Kiryl Relikh, WBA World Super Lightweight Champion
4. Ivan Baranchyk, IBF mandatory

The other four participants are:

Anthony Yigit, European Champion and IBF mandatory
Terry Flanagan, former world champion
Eduard Troyanovsky, WBA mandatory
Ryan Martin, undefeated challenger

During today’s “draft” the No. 1 seed will get the first pick of whom they’ll fight in the opener, then the No. 2 seed, and so forth. Both tournaments are scheduled to begin this fall and will stream on DAZN.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bad Left Hook Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your global boxing news from Bad Left Hook