clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bernard Hopkins, Juan Manuel Marquez, Shane Mosley lead IBHOF class of 2020

This year was the first time women were eligible as well

Hublot & WBC “Night of Champions” Gala Photo by Omar Vega/HUBLOT via Getty Images
Patrick Stumberg is a freelance writer for SB Nation, first joining the network in 2011 before linking up with Bad Left Hook in 2015.

Two months after unveiling the newest additions to their ballots, the International Boxing Hall of Fame has revealed its 13-strong class of 2020, including its newfound women’s Modern and women’s Trailblazer categories.

Your honorees:

Middleweight legend and oldest man to win a world title Bernard Hopkins (Modern).
Four-division champion and owner of one of the greatest one-punch knockouts of the ‘10s Juan Manuel Marquez (Modern).
Three-division champion and onetime pound-for-pound king Shane Mosley (Modern).
Breakout star and inaugural Nevada Boxing Hall of Fame female inductee Christy Martin (women’s Modern).
Undefeated boxer/kickboxer and Million Dollar Baby antagonist Lucia Rijker (women’s Modern).
Women’s boxing pioneer Barbara “The Mighty Atom of the Ring” Buttrick (women’s Trailblazer).
Turn-of-the-century two-division champion Frank Erne (Old Timer).
Bare-knuckle icon Paddy Ryan (Pioneer).

On the non-combatant side, there’s venerable promoters Lou DiBella, Kathy Duva, and the late Dan Goossen alongside New Orleans reporting veteran Bernard Fernandez and writing great Thomas Hauser.

The ballot selection can be seen in its entirety here.

Can’t say I disagree with any of the inductees, though there are certainly a few women like Ann Wolfe who deserve that bit of immortality. Well, there’s always next year.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bad Left Hook Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your global boxing news from Bad Left Hook