clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

CSAC investigating Alexander Flores after 45-second knockout loss to Luis Ortiz

Flores went down to a body shot in their meeting last Saturday

Deontay Wilder v Luis Ortiz Photo by Steve Marcus/Getty Images

Nobody in the universe expected Alexander Flores to put up much of a fight in his November 7th PBC main event against Luis Ortiz, but going down from “King Kong’s” third landed punch of the fight may have been a bit of an eyebrow-raiser. Mike Coppinger reports the California State Athletic Commission is withholding “The Great’s” purse pending a hearing.

Flores (18-3-1, 16 KO), whose previous attempts to step onto the world stage saw him smashed by Charles Martin in 2014 and Joseph Parker in 2018, hit the deck around the 30-second mark of the first round. He beat the count, but the referee ruled he was in no shape to continue, resulting in an Ortiz (32-2, 27 KO) knockout victory.

You can see the finish for yourself right here. Ortiz definitely lands a flush body shot, but it doesn’t look like it gets much penetration due to his bicep and forearm smacking into Flores’ guard.

Personally, I don’t suspect foul play; Ortiz was such a huge favorite that you’d need a truly colossal bet in order to make any kind of notable profit, and that would have caught someone’s attention. I think it’s about 50/50 between Ortiz hitting him just right and Flores taking a decent shot and deciding he didn’t want to see what would happen if Ortiz landed clean.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bad Left Hook Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your global boxing news from Bad Left Hook