Good news! There will now be multiple groups of incompetents reviewing last Saturday’s debacle between Joshua Franco and Andrew Moloney. Lance Pugmire reports that the WBA, whose “world” super flyweight title Franco retained, are taking a look as well. They are “capable of both reversing the no-decision to a Moloney victory” and ordering a rematch.
Don’t get your hopes up about the outcome changing; if NSAC’s comments are anything to go by, the WBA will probably follow the NFL’s “incontrovertible visual evidence” standard for overturning an official’s call. You can rewatch the fight for yourself if you aren’t already sick of the argument, and while none of the potential head clashes look anywhere near significant enough to cause the damage that ultimately closed Franco’s (17-1-2, 8 KO) eye, there simply aren’t enough angles to determine the exact point at which the swelling occurred. If Russell Mora had called a legal punch, that ruling would almost certainly stand as well.
My bold prediction: the official result doesn’t change and these two get the order to lock horns again once Franco gets his depth perception back.