clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Regis Prograis’ win over Ivan Redkach overturned to TKO

Prograis had originally won a technical decision.

Triller Fight Club: Jake Paul v Ben Askren Photo by Al Bello/Getty Images for Triller

In a matter of swift justice, Regis Prograis’ technical decision win over Ivan Redkach this past weekend has officially been reviewed and overturned to a TKO by the Georgia Athletic and Entertainment Commission. The fight had originally been ruled a technical decision after Prograis was ruled to have landed an unintentional low blow from which Redkach couldn’t continue.

At the time the referee had sent the fight to the scorecards, which gave Prograis a technical decision win, but according to Georgia state regulations if a fighter should not be able to continue from an unintentional low blow, they shall be ruled a loser by technical knockout.

This all means that officially — as far as the commission is concerned — Prograis still landed an unintentional low blow as was ruled at the time (despite replay clearly indicating the shot wasn’t low); but the fight shouldn’t have gone to cards anyway and Prograis should’ve just been awarded the TKO win, which he now has.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bad Left Hook Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your global boxing news from Bad Left Hook